New friends

I was reading a friend’s blog post the other day where she talked about making new friends and it occurred to me that that is one of the best parts about being away from Vancouver.  I have a tendency to be a bit routine in my day to day life and as such don’t always meet a ton of new people or connect with the people I meet enough to develop lasting friendships.  In the last two and a half months I have met more people and made more friends than I had in the past couple of years in Vancouver, not because there aren’t great people in Vancouver but because I got a little too comfortable.

There’s something about being outside of your comfort zone with other people outside of their comfort zones’ that makes connecting a little bit easier.  That said, many of the friends we have made here were in Barcelona only temporarily and have already left or are leaving shortly.  I’m sad to see them go, ZSUZSA!! MARTIN!! ALESSANDRO!! GIORGIA!! but now we have even more places around Europe to visit!

We had a party to send them off… with the help of some hand written recipes from Nargis I have finally gotten the hang of chicken pilau and basic curries.  We successfully fed 14, I’ve never cooked for that many people before!

Leave a comment